Dublin City

Dublin is the capital of the Republic of Ireland. Situated on a bay on the east coasit lies within the province of Leinster and is bordered in the north by County Louth and Co. Meath, to the west Co. Kildare and to the south Counties Wicklow and Wexford.

The population of the greater Dublin area stands at almost 2 million, with over 1.3 million resients in the city. The greater Dublin area accounts for almost one third of the population of the Republic of Ireland.

There is an debate surrounding the origins of the city, with a settlement established by the Gaels during or before the 7th century AD, before the Viking made their way to Ireland. As the city grew it became Ireland’s principal settlement following the Norman invasion. The city expanded rapidly from the 17th century and at one stage was the second largest city in the British Empire in the early 1800’s. Following independence in 1922, the city became the capital of the Irish Free State, later renamed Ireland.

Dublin is a contemporary and historical centre for Irish education, arts and culture, administration and industry. To this day Ireand is considered a very multicultural and prosperous global city. Many multinationals have chosen Ireland, and more specifically Dublin as their European headquaters.